Student Management
The super administrator, a school administrator or teachers can manage student accounts.
Note—One or more of these management functions may be disabled for teacher accounts if permissions have been revoked by an administrator. In such cases, the function will appear grayed out in the interface and the administrator responsible will be displayed when the cursor is held over it.
Adding a Student
Student accounts can be added in three ways:
Manual addition
Click the Students tab, then click the Add new student button, fill in all the required fields, assign the student to the appropriate school and group and click Add. This method is best suited for occasionally adding a student or two.
File import
Import an Excel or CSV file containing all required information.
Self-registration
If all your groups have already been created, you can let each student create their own account when they log in to Typing Pal for the first time:
- Students must be provided with their school’s custom URL and signup code, together with their group name and the name of one of the teachers assigned to that group.
- Students must then access their school’s custom URL.
- Students can create their account in one of two ways: A. They can click Create an account at the bottom of the page to create the account directly in Typing Pal. They can then log in using the username and password they created. B. They can click Log in with Google, Microsoft or Clever to create their account using a sign-in partner. They must then log in to that service and click No when prompted to indicate whether they already have a Typing Pal account. A Typing Pal username and password will not be generated when students create their account using a sign-in partner.
- Students must then fill in all required fields in the registration form, including the school’s signup code, carefully select their teacher and group, and click Finish signup.
Editing or Deleting a Student Account
Student account information can be edited from the Student Summary screen. Click the Edit button in the Profile panel to update the student’s information or change their password.
Student accounts can be deleted in two ways:
- Check them off in the list under the Students tab, then select Delete from the More menu. Confirm that you have read the warning in the pop-up window and click Delete.
- Go to the corresponding Student Summary screen and select Delete from the Actions menu. Confirm that you have read the warning in the pop-up window and click Delete.
Warning—Removing a student account permanently deletes all personal information and activity results associated with that account. This operation cannot be undone.
Adding a Student Account to an Additional Group
Students can belong to multiple groups. Student accounts can be added to an existing group in three ways:
- Go to the Students tab and check the account you want to add. Click the More menu and select Add to an existing group. Select the relevant group, then click Add.
- Go to the Student Summary. Click the Actions menu and select Add to an existing group. Select the relevant group, then click Add.
- Go to the group you want to add a student to, then go to the Students tab. Click the Add existing student button. Enter the student’s name, then click Add.
Moving a Student Account From One Group to Another
If you move a student account to a different group, the account is removed from the original group.
If a student belongs to a single group, the account can be moved between groups in two ways:
- Go to the Student Summary, then click the Actions menu and select Move.
- Update the accounts by file import. This process allows you to move large numbers of student accounts between groups.
If a student belongs to multiple groups, the account can be moved between groups as follows:
- Go to the Groups tab, select the group that the student account you want to move belongs to, then click the Students tab. Check the student account in the list, then select Move from the More menu.
Editing Student Permissions
Accessing games
When a new group is created, students assigned to that group will have access to Typing Pal’s games by default.
Disable game access for a group by clicking Edit in the Settings panel of the corresponding Group Summary screen and unchecking the option Allow students to access games.
Changing a password
When a new group is created, students assigned to that group are not allowed to change their own passwords by default.
Enable the option to let students change their passwords by clicking Edit in the Settings panel of the corresponding Group Summary screen and checking off the option Allow students to change their passwords.
Automatic Deletion of Inactive Accounts
By default, student accounts are automatically deleted on June 30 of the year following the school year during which the accounts were last used. This feature improves data security and privacy, in addition to simplifying account management.
The super administrator is the only user who can disable automatic account deletion. Click the Edit button in the Data management panel on the Subscription Summary screen and change the selection under Automatic cleanup of student accounts.
Note — A student need only log in once for their account to be considered active until the end of the next school year.